Katalyst – Deep Impressions [Out Today]

Internationally renowned, ARIA nominated producer Katalyst returns with new album Deep Impressions, set for release today via Invada Records / Remote Control. The follow up album to his highly acclaimed 2007 album What’s Happening, a former triple j feature album, Deep Impressions is Katalyst’s third full length album and his most impressive work to date.

The latest product of his audiophiliac obsession, Deep Impressions deconstructs and distils soul, hip hop, funk, jazz, reggae and electro influences into what is perhaps most accurately described as “the Katalyst sound“. Deep Impressions is a reflection of the large variety tunes that influence Katalyst’s own musical direction. On the title of the album, Katalyst says, “Writing music for me is a continual process so when it came time to put the third Katalyst album together I looked at the songs I had written and recorded for the new release. As a body of work it was clear that many styles of music have made a deep impression on me as a producer. Hence the name of my album.”

On Deep Impressions, Katalyst collaborated with the likes of Los Angeles hip-hop artist Bootie Brown (of The Pharcyde), Sydney’s own KweenG (KillaQueenz), underground legend Mr Clean, and upcoming North Carolina MC Coin Locker Kid. Katalyst also teams up with long-term collaborators Stephanie McKay (USA), Steve Spacek (UK), Hau (Koolism), and Jade MacRae.

Katalyst is Sydney-based producer Ashley Anderson, one of Australia’s most prolific producers. Over the past two decades Katalyst has risen to the top of the Australian hip hop and electronica scenes, receiving multiple ARIA and J Award nominations along the way. His reputation as one of Australia’s best producers has seen him collaborate with the likes of Geoff Barrow of Portishead, Aloe Blacc, Dead Prez, Guilty Simpson, Phat Kat, J-Live, Finale, Frank n Dank, Diverse, Ugly Duckling, and Steve Spacek (who together form Space Invadas). Katalyst has performed alongside The Roots, Jack Johnson, Jurassic 5, DJ Shadow, The Black Eyed Peas and Mix Master Mike and Ben Harper, and has also performed at Splendour In The Grass, Big Day Out, Homebake, The Falls Festivals, and Good Vibrations.

1. Day Into Night – Feat. Stephanie McKay
2. Black Dragon – Feat. Mr Clean
3. Pot Or Pills
4. Ready To Drop – Feat. Kween g
5. Beware
6. Clapping Song – Feat. Coin Locker Kid
7. The Popcorns – Feat. Jane Doe
8. It’s A Blast
9. U Can’t Save Me – Feat. Buff 1 & Stephanie McKay
10. No. 1
11. The Lights – Feat. Booty Brown & Spacek
12. Who’s Doing It
13. Time Ticks On – Feat. Hau
14. Dreaming Of You

Homepage  ||  Stream  ||  Purchase  ||  Facebook  ||  Twitter