Omar Musa & Mighty Joe – MoneyKat

Many people would recognise a money cat statue, painted gold with a waving paw, as a common feature of Asian grocery stores and restaurants. Traditionally, a money cat is supposed to bring monetary wealth and prosperity into a business. International hip-hop duo MoneyKat, comprising Omar Musa (Australia) and Mighty Joe (US), seek to flip that idea on its head.

Both MCs had solo careers before this collaboration. Musa, the Australian Poetry Slam Champion in 2008, released World Goes to Pieces in 2010 as well as touring in France, China, India, the UK and as support for the legendary poet/singer Gil Scott-Heron in Germany. Mighty Joe released the Golden EP in 2010 and the Elevated EP in early 2011 and featured on the soundtrack to documentary Oakland: My Home, My Prison and My Freedom as well as soundtrack to internationally released video game College Hoops 2K7.

With the full MoneyKat LP still a few months away, Musa and Mighty Joe thought it’s be good to give the heads some free music to enjoy while we wait hungrily for the debut album. MoneyKat will release their debut album MoneyKat in March 2012. You can grab a copy of the free download below.

1. The Music Scene
2. Fast Lane
3. City Lights
4. Sisyphus
5. Live from the Neon Address
6. What We See
7. Shouts!
8. I’m Good
9. Danger
10. Drive
11. Easier
12. Nothing is Safe feat. Candice Monique (Paranaudio Remix)  

MoneyKat  ||  Bandcamp  ||  Soundcloud