Skryptcha – Mindful (Out Now)

Skryptcha has a knack for making the philosophical non-confrontational. His second masterpiece Mindful is not unlike it’s creator; preceptive, sharp and ahead of its time. After the notoriety surrounding previous LP Numb3rs, and break out EP Left to Write, the slick young wordsmith has found time to knock out a Journalism degree, and travel substantially. Crafted during the most pivotal years of his life, Mindful takes a considered look at Skryptcha’s unique journey thus far.

Mindful’s production was expertly handled by illustrious US producer Illmind, a long-time favourite beat-maker of Skryptcha’s. Throughout the album, a dynamic emcee-producer synchronicity is evident, Illmind setting a scene and Skryptcha telling the story seamlessly. The most comprehensive period of the duo’s artistic interaction took place during Skryptcha’s visit to Illmind’s studio in Brooklyn. An otherwise digital collaboration, the distance between the two proved irrelevant in creating the album the two had envisaged. Using analogue equipment and processes, Illmind’s rich bass lines and homage to old school soul set the tone throughout Mindful.

Lead single, Dance sets the head nodding with its laid-back soulful guitar loops teamed with loose, punchy beats. Skryptcha maneuvers rhythmic rhymes skillfully around the beat, whilst observing music’s power to simplify a person’s circumstance. The hilarious film clip for Dance, featuring Steven O’Donnell (‘Bajo’ from the ABC show Good Game) has just been released. We recommend you check that one out above. Skyryptcha – Mindful is out now through Obese Records.

Track list:
1 – Graduation feat. Rachael Berry
2 – Take Off feat. Daniel Mifsud
3 – Dance
4 – Crash Course
5 – The Sun
6 – Going Nowhere feat. Daniel Mifsud
7 – Edge Of The World
8 – Let It Ride
9 – Work Out feat. Spit Syndicate
10 – 50 Ways
11 – I’m Good feat. Rachael Berry
12 – Goodnight
13 – My Way Up feat. Illy & Joyride

iTunes exclusive offer:
When you purchase Mindful online through iTunes, you will receive two bonus tracks produced by Taku for free!
14 – Rainfall
15 – Your World

Purchase  ||  YouTube  ||  Facebook  ||  Twitter