Out Now: David Dallas – Falling Into Place

The past two years have been a rollercoaster for David Dallas. He signed to underground powerhouse Duck Down Music NYC in 2011, releasing second album The Rose Tint in the US soon after, and touring throughout North America with hip hop duo Aer. A spot at the notoriously hard-to-get-into SXSW Fader party.

david dallas

Big-ups from Kanye West and adds to MTV America and Australia. Short listing for New Zealand’s highest songwriting accolade, the Taite Prize. A tour of New Zealand with P-Money, and the release of his Buffalo Man EP. 

Not wanting to rest on laurels, the start of 2013 saw Dallas enter the studio with production whizz kids Fire & Ice; note book in hand. Diamonds are made under pressure and in four months, Dallas had twelve unparalleled finished tracks to put his name to.

D.Dot talks a big game but he’s still a storyteller. Themes on Falling Into Place range from epic Django Unchained tales of escape on first single Runnin’, to his tribute to the streets of South Auckland, Southside. Arguably the biggest innovator in hip hop New Zealand has seen in two decades, Dallas has once again turned his eagle eye to finding new and unusual talent to mix in with his own.

On The Wire and The Gate he collaborates with alt. pop icon Ruby Frost, the tracks bookending the album (both songs had been demo-ed a year before ‘that’ TV show, to quell any notions of bandwagon-jumping). Elsewhere in the tracklisting, up-and comers Spycc and Rokske rub shoulders with long time wingmen Sid Diamond, Mareko, PNC and US superstar rapper Freddie Gibbs.
With his second album The Rose Tint, David Dallas made new rules for how a record should be sold and marketed. Expect the unexpected when Falling Into Place drops on October 25.
I’m out here, I’m hungry. I don’t play’ around, trust me.” – ‘Runnin’, David Dallas

Produced: Fire & Ice, tracks 5 and 11 by Nick ‘41’ Maclaren.
Engineered: Evan Short (P-Money, Aaradhna) 

01 The Wire feat. Ruby Frost      
02 Transmitting Live
03 Runnin
04 Gotta Know feat. Rokske       
05 How Long feat. PNC & Spycc
06 My Mentality feat. Freddie Gibbs      
07 Local Celeb   
08 Southside feat. Sid Diamond & Mareko           
09 Follow            
10 Right There  
11 One More    
12 The Gate feat. Ruby Frost 

David Dallas – “Falling into Place” Australian Tour
Wednesday 18th December – Causeway Bar, Perth
Thursday 19th December – Alhambra Lounge, Brisbane
Friday 20th December – Bondi Beach Road Hotel, Sydney
Saturday 21st December – The Espy, Melbourne

Official  ||  Twitter  ||  Facebook  ||  ITunes

One thought on “Out Now: David Dallas – Falling Into Place

Comments are closed.