Touring Nationally With Spit Syndicate This June

Today Turquoise Prince drops his new single Lighter; a bold yet achingly honest ode to a love that can never be, two people dancing around a future they can’t commit to.

A swung R&B groove with sliding chords and driving bass forms a slinky backdrop to an earnest vocal performance that flirts with danger. There is poetry in Turquoise Prince’s conflict on Lighter, wherein he showcases insight beyond his years and faces his own faults with a profound humility.

TPC18C_Artwork_LowRes

“It’s about staring into the eyes of temptation. Everybody’s been there – whether you’re tempted to smash a late night Uber eats, or in this case fall in love with a girl that has a boyfriend. I love the song because it takes me there every time,” he says.

The flamboyant singer/MC from Canberra’s south first developed his craft as a teenager in Tonga, where he was sent as punishment after almost burning down his high school. It was in Tonga that Turquoise Prince developed the tougher side of his rap persona, as a way to shield him from the harsh realities of daily life.

Conversely, his musical idol, Freddie Mercury, encouraged him to be unashamed of his own femininity, allowing a balance to surface in his music that is equal parts tender and tough. Lighter offers a taste of this; Turquoise Prince is vulnerable in his introspection, yet almost triumphant in his resolve. 

Turquoise Prince debuted with his 2016 single Worlds Apart, which premiered on triple j and scaled its way up to the top of the Spotify Australian viral charts. 2017 saw more action, with the release of two more singles – Like Your Friends and Sunday Sesh – and a slew of live shows, including festival slots at Groovin The Moo, Listen Out and Spilt Milk, plus national tours in support of Aussie hip-hop duo Horrorshow and triple j favourites Boo Seeka. Turquoise Prince has also collaborated with Australian producers Enschway and Kuren, showing his keen ability to cross genres.

With a rammed mid-week headline show at The Botany View Hotel earlier this year, and the main support slot on Spit Syndicate’s forthcoming national Orbit tour, Turquoise Prince is fast gaining notoriety for his irreverent humour, irresistible charm, and explosive live show.

Turquoise Prince Tour Dates With Spit Syndicate
Thur 7 Jun Shark Bar, Miami Tavern, Gold Coast
Fri 8 Jun Mooloolaba Wharf Tavern, Mooloolaba
Sat 9 Jun The Brightside, Brisbane
Sun 10 Jun Great Northern Hotel, Byron Bay
Thur 14 Jun Long Jetty Hotel, Long Jetty
Fri 15 Jun Cambridge Hotel. Newcastle
Sat 16 Jun The Factory Theatre, Sydney
Thur 21 Jun Karova Lounge, Ballarat
Fri 22 Jun Workers Club, Geelong
Sat 23 Jun Corner Hotel, Melbourne
Thur 28 Jun Rocket Bar, Adelaide
Fri 29 Jun Republic Bar, Hobart
Sat 30 Jun Club 54, Launceston
Fri 6 Jul Wollongong Uni Bar, Wollongong
Sat 7 Jul Transit Bar. Canberra