Chasm – This Is How We Never Die

This Is How We Never Die is the refreshingly on-point third instalment from prestigious Sydney producer Chasm. True to the quality displayed throughout debut album Beyond the Beat Tape (2008), and Move (with Vida Sunshyne, 2010) Chasm proves himself once more as a consummate composer. 

Joined by local and international artists; This Is How We Never Die features USA underground vocal heavyweights AG (Showbiz & AG), Guilty Simpson (Stones Throw), Vast Aire (Def Jux), and Fashawn (One), New Zealand’s Dave Dallas, and Blak Twang (UK). Not to mention an assortment of Australia’s top lyricists including Solo, Lazy Grey, Mdusu, Delta, Dialectrix and Brad Strut.

Chasm approaches beats like a learned artist with a brush, building on classic principles to create evolutionary new music. The collection of beats chosen for the album vary from old to new, moving through down tempo, blunted soul, up-tempo funk, and reggae. Lead single The Truth with its eclectic sample combinations, fuses Latin piano loops with brass accents and futuristic synth solos. Bringing a new shine to the art of braggadocio, the track features emcees The Tongue, Hau, and Dazastah.

Vast Aire and Dialect team up on the sample-heavy Intergalactic. The two brilliant rappers attack the beat as it slams alongside an eerie drone, while delicate piano flourishes glint throughout. I Am Legend features the masterful AG and Delta riffing over classic boom bap teamed with driving keys. Lyrically the track is a soulful reminisce to hip hop’s greats and the legacies left and lived by. This Is How We Never Die is certain to be a historical cornerstone reflective of the unifying strength hip hop inspires. A testament to the power an accomplished producer possesses, bringing the most diverse of artists and fans together.

Track List
1. New Day
2. Rusty Griz Feat. Lazy Grey
3. I Am Legend Feat. AG & Delta
4. The Truth Feat. The Tongue, Hau & Dazastah
5. Soldier and a Thinker Feat. Hau & Blak Twang
6. Highs and Lows Feat. Fashawn, Solo & David Dallas
7. Ruthless Feat. Guilty Simpson & Brad Strut
8. Intergalactic Feat. Vast Aire & Dialect
9. Smokey
10. Dreamin Feat. Gappy Ranks & RuCL
11. I See You Feat. Marvin Priest
12. All Lovely Feat. Phat Kat & Mr. Clean
13. King Pin Shottas Feat. Guilty Simpson, Mdusu & Hau
14. We’ve Arrived Feat. Jeswon, Tuka, Skryptcha, Scott Burns, Rinse & Dialectrix

Chasm – This Is How We Never Die is available through Obese Records on April 27.  

Chasm Beats  ||  Twitter  ||  Soundcloud