Baker Boy Receives 3 AIR Award Nominations Including Best Independent Artist

The Australian Independent Record Labels Association (AIR) will celebrate the 12th AIR Independent Music Awards at Adelaide’s Queen’s Theatre this Thursday 26th July, 2018. Thanks to the continued support from the South Australian Government, the return to the UNESCO City of Music will see over 40 of Australia’s finest recording artists nominated for one of this year’s prestigious awards.

AIR will also host its second two-day Indie-Con Australia Conference at The Hindley on the 26th and 27th July and will be surrounded by a hive of activity with the excitement of Umbrella: Winter City Sounds, the Winter Reds Weekend and the Colour of Impressionism.

Since its inauguration in 1996, the AIR Awards have recognised Australia’s most notable talent from the Hoodoo Gurus (1996) to TISM (1998), The Avalanches (2000), The Go-Betweens (2000), The John Butler Trio (2001), Silverchair (2002), Wolfmother (2004), Goyte (2006), Gurrumul (2008), Sia (2009), Dan Sultan (2010), Paul Kelly (2011), Flume (2012), Meg Mac (2013), Courtney Barnet (2015) and A.B Original (2017).

Best Independent Label
ABC Music
Milk! Records
Dot Dash Recordings
Bad Apples Music

Best Independent Artist
Alex Lahey
Baker Boy
Jen Cloher
Stella Donnelly
The Jungle Giants

Best Independent Single
RVG – A Quality Of Mercy
Alex Lahey – Every Day’s The Weekend
The Jungle Giants – Feel The Way I Do
Baker Boy – Marryuna feat. Yirrmal
Methyl Ethel – Ubu

Breakthrough Independent Artist Of The Year – Presented By PPCA
Angie Mcmahon – Slow Mover
Baker Boy – Marryuna
RVG – A Quality Of Mercy
Stella Donnelly – Thrush Metal
The Jungle Giants – Quiet Ferocity

Best Independent Hip Hop Album
Horrorshow – Bardo State
Bliss N Eso – Off The Grid
Allday – Speeding
Winston Surfshirt – Sponge Cake
Birdz – Train Of Thought

To see the full list of nominees follow the link here.