Plutonic Lab Announces First Solo Album In 11 Years Deep Above The Noise

Releases Video For ‘The Crib’ feat. Guilty Simpson

Prolific producer and performer Plutonic Lab has today announced his fourth solo album Deep Above the Noise, led by a video for first cut ‘The Crib’ ft. Guilty Simpson.

Plutonic Lab - DATN Front (3000px)

Following the success of his critically acclaimed album Codes Over Colours (2005), the Australian Music Prize nominated and Mercury Music Prize winning producer will drop his fourth solo album Deep Above the Noise on June 17, 2016 via Wax Museum Records.

Pre-orders for Deep Above the Noise will be available on vinyl via Wax Museum Records and digitally via iTunes. Watch the video for ‘The Crib’ ft. Guilty Simpson here.

An effortlessly cool accompaniment to the running hip-hop beat that lays the track, the video for ‘The Crib’ stars Detroit rapper Guilty Simpson alongside Plutonic Lab as they collaborate in the studio.

Intersecting with cuts of Plutonic Lab in an astronaut suit juxtaposed against grimy, urban streets, he explores the streets while Simpson’s words explore the notion of ‘home’ and how it’s carried with us even when we’re away, with the black & white grading lending itself to both an ominous and uplifting nature.

With a vast array of instrumental landscapes, Deep Above the Noise is a 12-track sonic journey that transcends genres with its masterful production and poetic vocal enhancements – it explores ambient sound structures paired with explosive futuristic hip-hop, through to a blend of minimalist jazz beats and sophisticated urban soul. Vocal contributions from an array of international guests including Guilty Simpson, Miles Bonny, Coma-Chi and Notes to Self BBRC, and Melbourne’s MoMO (IAMMMXO) complement the intricate and carefully constructed layers of sound, forming a heavy hitting affair from start to finish.

Australian music producer, artist and performer Leigh Ryan aka Plutonic Lab has provided the backdrop for countless artists over a mammoth career spanning two decades, collaborating on over 80 releases locally and internationally including with G-Love (US), Dialectrix, Drapht, Hilltop Hoods, Fatlip (US) and Wiley (UK). Plutonic Lab notably produced Dialectrix’s 2013 album The Cold Light of Day which was shortlisted for the Australian Music Prize, won the 2009 UK Mercury Prize for his work with Speech Debelle, and was nominated for ‘Best Urban Release’ at the 2008 ARIA Awards as half of hip-hop duo Muph & Plutonic.

Deep Above the Noise track list:
1. Out of the Night
2. Pushin’
3. Sliced Bread ft. Notes To Self BBRC
4. Flex The Complex
5. Signals ft. MoMO (IAMMXO)
6. The Crib ft. Guilty Simpson
7. Sirens
8. Cold Light
9. Do More ft. Miles Bonny
10. Boom
11. Stray Cat
12. Path to Satori ft. COMA-CHI

Facebook  ||  Instagram  ||  Twitter