Urthboy nominated for an Australian Music Award

Sydney artist Urthboy (Elefant Traks) aka Tim Levinson has been nominated to join the shortlist for this year’s Australian music award, The Amps, for his new album, Spitshine.
Urthboy, also known for his work with The Herd, worked on the new album with fellow stable mates Hermitude.

Levinson makes up one of the nine artists on the shortlist for the Australian Music Prize for outstanding album of 2009, the second time he’s been nominated after The Signal made the cut in 2007.
Now in its fifth year, the music prize is not just the most reputable of the gongs handed out each year – there is a pool of 27 judges drawn from artists, media and selected retailers, and not a single record company or management vote – but the most lucrative award with a cheque for $30,000 awaiting the winner and $30,000 worth of coverage on the pay TV music channels [V] and Max.

There’s also a cheque for $15,000 for the short-listed artist considered to have outstanding potential.
”I don’t have any grand expectations so the fact that I am a nominee, I can very genuinely say, is my little victory,” a very chuffed Levinson says while downplaying the achievement.

With Urthboy’s Spitshine, the list also features multiple ARIA winner Sarah Blasko, former Australian Idol contestant Lisa Mitchell, Sydney duo and previous music prize winners the Mess Hall, Lucie Thorne, Bertie Blackman, Oh Mercy, Kid Sam and Black Cab.
Notably missing from the list are commercially dominating artists as Powderfinger, Wolfmother, Nick Cave and the Temper Trap, who were represented among the 234 albums submitted for this year’s prize.

But the nine albums represent both major and independent labels and a variety of styles from country folk and cinematic rock, to dark indie moods and straight-out pop. And, of course, hip-hop.
The winner of the Australian Music Prize will be announced on March 12 in Sydney.
Previous winners of The Amp include Eddie Current Supression Ring, The Mess Hall, and The Drones.

Sarah Blasko – As Day Follows Night
Lisa Mitchell – Wonder
Lucie Thorne – Black Across the Field
The Mess Hall – For the Birds
Bertie Blackman – Secrets and Lies
Oh Mercy – Privileged Woes
Kid Sam – Kid Sam
Black Cab – Call Signs
Urthboy – Spitshine