Koolta – The Extraordinary Average Joe

Koolta’s long awaited debut album. Since winning the Hilltop Hoods Initiative in 2011 ($10 000 grant from APRA and HH to help in the release of a debut album) this young MC/Producer from Adelaide has hit the ground running.

Having already released two well received independent EPs, Koolta continues his DIY ethic handling all production, writing, recording and mixing on the new album.

The Extraordinary Average Joe is not your standard local Hip Hop album. This is music that lives up to this bold statement. Koolta has crafted multi-layered instrumentals with the use of live instrumentation and synths, rather than sampling. The lyrics are not the typical bragging so often found in the genre, but rather deep introspective lyrics examining the self and greater society.

From the socialist critique of excessive wealth on Possessions to the confronting family issues on Let Me. Koolta demonstrates a maturity beyond his years, and provides an honest poetic voice for the voiceless. Guests on the album include two of the country’s best lyricists, Prime (Soulmate Records) and national slam poetry champion Omar Musa. Koolta has got the tick of approval from hip hop legends the Hilltop Hoods and will be opening for them at the Adelaide Entertainment Centre on their Speaking In Tongues Tour in July 2012.

Track Listing:
Chapter 1: Birth
Chapter 2: Piece Of The Puzzle (Featuring Gabrielle Hyde)
Chapter 3: Poison (Featuring Prime)
Chapter 4: Ying Yang
Chapter 5: Sore Thumb (Featuring Omar Musa)
Chapter 6: Intermood
Chapter 7: Four Seasons
Chapter 8: Possessions
Chapter 9: Let Me
Chapter 10: The Extraordinary Average Joe
Chapter 11: Think Tank
Chapter 12: This Year
Chapter 13: Death

Koolta – The Extraordinary Average Joe will be released July 13, 2012. 

Twitter  ||  Soundcloud  ||  Facebook  ||  Pre-Order